CHiPs Chronicles

The continuing adventures of Jon & Ponch

Missing Scenes From “One Two Many”


Synopsis: (this takes place where the episode left off-Jon, fed up with the delays in getting Ponch’s trailer repaired, loses it and decides  to live in the trailer, giving Ponch the keys to his car and apartment. Ever wonder what happened after that??)
*****************************
Jon waved goodbye to Ponch, closed the curtains and sat down. Finally! Peace and quiet! His momentary satisfaction gave way to disgust as he looked around the trailer. How does he live like this? Clothes, empty wrappers and assorted clutter filled the small space, a layer of dust over it all. He sighed and ran a hand through his hair. Me and my big mouth.

Meanwhile, Ponch headed back to Jon’s place, excited. Jon’s place and all his beautiful friends! Mine! He grinned as he pulled into the complex and parked. Once inside the apartment he walked into Jon’s bedroom.Unsurprisingly it was neat as a pin. Ponch sat on the bed and smiled to himself. Goodbye couch! His smiled faded as his eyes fell on Jon’s dresser. Among the cologne, family photos, jar of spare change and a worn brown cigar box was a photo in a silver frame. It was of the two of them, taken the day Ponch had graduated from Motor School. Ponch’s glee faded as he laid back on the bed and closed his eyes. Damn it! Jon is the best friend you’ve got and you’ve gone and screwed it up.
******************
The next morning at Central, Ponch walked into the locker room and was greeted by the sound of the shower going. He walked past the lockers into the shower room to find Jon busily soaping himself up.

“Jon? What are you doing here?”

“You’ve never seen a guy take a shower before?”

“Not you, not this early.”

“Yeah well my current accommodations are a bit lacking, okay?” Jon’s voice was curt.

Ponch dropped his head. “Look Jon, I’m sorry, alright? Take your apartment back. I’ll stay at a hotel.”

“My thoughts exactly.” Jon turned the shower off and wrapped a towel around himself. “You can leave my keys by my locker.”

“Okay, I’ll meet you in briefing.”

Jon didn’t answer. When he got to briefing he took his seat without a word. Man, he’s really steamed, Ponch thought to himself. It’s gonna be a long day. He sighed and turned his attention to Getraer. When briefing was over he followed Jon outside to their motors.

“C’mon Jon, say something, anything! Please?”

Jon stopped and put his helmet down, turning to face him, blue eyes flashing..”Okay, you want to hear something? Here goes. Out of the goodness of my heart I let you stay with me when your trailer died. And what did you do? You trashed my apartment, kept me up all night, hit on all my neighbors, and totally embarrassed me. You have the rest of the guys thinking I’m some sort of ladykiller, and I don’t appreciate it. You took advantage, Ponch, and that doesn’t fly with me. I don’t know, maybe it was all that double crap I just went through, but yeah, I’m steamed.”

Ponch was taken aback. “Jon, really.. I. .I’m sorry. You’re right. I really screwed up. C’mon, tell me how I can make it up to you.”

Jon put his helmet on. “For a start? Grow up, Ponch. It’s time. Now if it’s all the same to you, I think I’ll ride alone today.”

He drove off, leaving Ponch alone in the lot. He stood there and watched til he disappeared, then dropped his gaze to the ground. Maybe he’s right.
**********************
Jon parked and reached for his pinchbook with a sigh. Speeders. A battle they never seemed to win. He leaned down to take his pen from his boot and approached the green sports car cautiously.
“Good afternoon. May I see your driver’s license and registra-”

“Oh my god it’s you! I heard about you! You’re that pervert fake cop!” the woman exclaimed. “Don’t you touch me!”

“Ma’am-” Jon tried to explain, but it was too late. The woman hit the gas and sped away. Jon just stood there, staring at the ground, his shoulders slumped. He didn’t notice Ponch coming up behind him.

Ponch had seen the exchange and from Jon’s reaction he had a pretty good idea what had happened. He hit his siren and sped up, passing Jon, who didn’t look up. Instead he just turned around and slowly walked back to his motor. Ponch caught up to the sports car and motioned for her to pull over.

“Ma’am I believe you were pulled over back there by another officer-”

“No, he was that fake officer! You know, the sicko! Looked just like the picture I saw on the news!”

Ponch groaned silently. News? He cleared his throat. “No ma’am, the fake officer has been caught. The one that pulled you over was for real. Your license and registration please?”

“Oh..oh I’m so sorry…I..I really thought-” the woman looked embarrass as she handed them over.

“I know ma’am. I believe it was an honest mistake.”

Ponch wrote a her a warning and sent her on her way, then headed back to Central. Jon was nowhere in sight when he got there. He sighed and headed for Getraer’s office.

“I understand that, but the media doesn’t have a right-yes Captain I know. But my best-yes sir.”
Joe was on the phone and not happy at all. “Yes sir. Goodbye.” he hung up with a sigh and ran a hand across his face before slamming his fist against the desk.

Ponch was about to turn around and leave when Joe noticed him. “Yes Frank?”

“Nevermind, I’ll come back later.”

“Just spill it, will ya? What’s on your mind?”

Ponch took a seat, his helmet in his lap. “It’s Jon-”

“Yeah, I know all about the news reports, telling the public all about the fake cop. And to make things worse they released him!”

“WHAT?” Ponch couldn’t contain his shock.

“Bail. The judge set a ridiculously low bail. He’s out on the streets again, Frank. We can only hope he’s been scared straight.”

“Does Jon know?”

“No. I’ve been looking for him. I’ve got to take him off the streets for awhile.”

“C’mon Sarge! You can’t do that! It’s-”

“It’s for Jon’s safety. Those news reports are sure to spook the public-”

“They already have-” Ponch said softly.

“Excuse me?”

“That’s what I wanted to talk to you about, Sarge.”

Joe looked at his watch. “Tell me after briefing, will you? We’re both about to be late.”

Ponch nodded and followed Joe into briefing, sliding into his regular seat in the back. A few minutes later Jon arrived, and walked past Ponch, taking a seat across the room and up a few
rows. Hurt, Ponch swallowed hard and tried to focus on his notebook.

Joe noticed too and was surprised. Jon and Ponch had been insuperable ever since they’d met. Something had to be wrong…very wrong.
********************************
“Okay, that’s it. Hit the bricks. Baker, stick around.” Joe closed his notebook and headed back to his office. Ponch was waiting.

“Okay Frank. Speak. What was it you needed to tell me?”

Ponch took a deep breath and told him about the incident on the freeway.

Joe sighed, running a hand across his face. “Great. Just lovely. All right Frank. Hit your beat-and tell Baker to come in here on your way out, okay?”

“Sarge-”

“I’ll handle it, Frank. Now go.”

Ponch sighed and left the office. Jon was standing at his mailbox, staring at the floor.

“Hey partner. Sarge wants to see you. I’ll meet you on the beat, okay?”

“Thanks Ponch.” he looked up. “For handling that woman before-”

“Don’t mention it, ol buddy. You’re always looking out for me, and well, it was time I returned the favor.” he smiled.

Jon didn’t return it. His face was etched with weariness. “Thanks.”

Ponch watched him walk to Getraer’s office, then reluctantly headed out on patrol. At least he talked to me, he thought, fastening his helmet. Maybe he doesn’t hate me after all.
************************
“You wanted to see me Sarge?”

“Yeah Jon. Have a seat. Everything okay?”

“Sure, I guess.” Jon replied unconvincingly.

“You and Poncherello..is there anything I should know?”

Jon shook his head.

“Jon, I’m talking to you as a friend now, not a Sergeant. You and he didn’t sit together at briefing, and Frank is walking around looking like he just lost his best friend. You don’t look much better. Is everything all right?”

“We just had an argument this morning, that’s all. It’s nothing.”

Joe gazed at him for a moment, then sighed. “Well I hate to add to the lovely day you seem to be having, but you need to know. Your double’s out on bail.”

Jon’s eyes widened as he leaned forward. “WHAT?”

“I know Jon, I had the same reaction. The media’s gotten ahold of it, and that’s not helping. His picture has been on every news program and newspaper in town.”

Jon’s shoulder’s sagged as he looked down. “Sure explains the traffic stop-”

“I know Jon,” Joe said gently. “Frank told me. He’s worried about you. I am too. I think I’m going to keep you off the streets-”

“NO!” Jon exclaimed, louder than he’d intended. “C’mon Sarge, I’m a motor cop not a paper pusher.”

“Believe me Jon, I understand. But think about the traffic stop you had earlier. I don’t want to see that happen again.”

“Neither do I, but I don’t want to go into hiding! I just want this nightmare over with!”

“We all do. All right, fine. But I don’t want you making any stops on your own. Make sure Frank is with you. Okay?”

“Okay Sarge.”

“Go. I hear speeders out there.” Joe tried to lighten the mood.

Jon managed a small smile.

“Oh and Jon?”

“Yeah?”

“I can’t believe I’m saying this, but go easy on Frank. You mean more to him than you think.”

Jon looked down for a moment. “Thanks Sarge.”
********************
Jon met up with Ponch in their usual spot, a sunny patch of weeds off to the side of an overpass looking down on the Ventura freeway. He parked and looked down at the passing traffic.

“Anything exciting?”

“Nah.” Ponch replied.

Jon looked up. “Ponch listen, I…I’ve been way too hard on you and-”

“Hey, it’s all right. I deserved it. I was a jerk.”

“Yeah you were.”

“Hey! You’re not supposed to agree with me.” Ponch started to grin when he saw Jon do the same.

“I’m sorry I went off on you, Ponch. I let this double stuff really get to me.”

“Yeah well, a wise man once told me, ‘keep the tach in the black, baby.'”

Jon laughed. “I deserved that, didn’t I?”

Ponch laughed with him. “Let me straighten you out, okay?” he pointed to himself, “I’m the hot headed one who shoots his mouth off all the time, and you’re the level headed one that always gets my butt outta trouble. Got that?”

Shaking his head, Jon turned to smile at him. “I’ll try to remember that.”

Ponch suddenly turned serious. “Don’t worry ole buddy. This too will pass, you know? It won’t be long until the news finds something else to concentrate on.”

“I know Ponch. Thanks.”

The two officers gave each other 5 and then turned to look back at the traffic. A speeding sedan caught their attention.

“We got one Ponch, at 2 o’clock.”

“Right behind ya partner!”

October 20, 2011 - Posted by | Fiction, Missing Scenes

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

